My Journey Into Tech

My Journey Into Tech

How I became a techie

·

3 min read

Growing up I've generally envisioned myself as one who makes things, a little Divine force of some kind. So, I frequently considered ways of being that individual.

During the days of my high school, I joined a poetry club and as time passed by, I composed wonderful sonnets and performed at lovely spots and I was cheerful, however I wasn't fulfilled.

I mean I wrote wonderful things of beauty right? that ought to qualify me to be some kind of god who makes lovely things with words, right? In any case, that fulfillment wasn't there.

After graduating from high school, I enrolled at GreenValue, a nearby computer school, to earn a degree in software engineering. I attended GreenValue for more than two months, but I eventually had to drop out because I was behind on my payments. I was devastated and miserable, but there was nothing else I could do. I was not employed.

Perhaps I would continue with my studies if I had some work. As a result, I went looking for a job, and a friend of mine took me to a seminar where he promised we'd get a job later.

We went there and it was this marketing job where they'd give you an item to sell, and you'd need to refer individuals so your position would go up, the more individuals you allude to joining the program the more open doors you get.

I wasn't great at marketing, talk more of alluding individuals to participate in something I wouldn't appreciate doing.

So, throughout the seminar, the coordinators addressed us in turns, and when he got to mine, he enlightened me concerning the work and asked for my thoughts, and I asked what issue they were tackling, I wasn't happy with the response I got, and told them briefly about Mark Zuckerberg how he found an issue almost everyone is facing, settled it with tech and presently he's one of the most richest and influential individuals on the planet.

By then the coordinator advised me withdraw, he realized my vision wasn't there, my vision was in the tech industry, that was where the vision got more crystal.
I was unable to return to GreenValue to proceed with my course since I got admission to the higher institution where I continued with studying computer science.

Because the technology industry is growing and what we were taught in school seems to be a little out of date, I sought additional knowledge after graduating.

After a short while, I discovered CodeLab, a computer school that teaches you how to become a full-stack software engineer for free. I was selected from among the hundreds of applicants for the school.

We were taught not only software engineering skills but also design thinking, project management, and transformational leadership skills.

That is significantly more than I expected.

I was unable to continue my education at my previous institution because I could not afford the tuition and received very little instruction.

Then, after a short time, I enrolled in a different school that taught me and continues to teach me much more than what they would have taught me for seemingly no money.

Isn't it interesting how bad things can sometimes bring beautiful things into one's life?